Posted on

Current Reads #19

It’s once again time to share my Current Reads. I still can’t believe that it’s August. 2017 just refuses to slow down, right? Let’s get started.

evelynThe Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid- I’ve been wanting to read this novel for the longest. Once I heard about it I knew eventually I would own this book. The cover alone is fucking stunning! I’ve always been a fan of old-school Hollywood; the actors/actresses, the style, Etc. Evelyn Hugo is a legendary actress who is ready to share her life story with the world. She decides that Monique Grant- a journalist who is really having a rough season of life, will be the one to pen her biography.

“Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.”

Yasssssss!

Let me know what you guys are currently reading. I would love to know.

Cheers, homies!

Image Credit- Belongs to it’s owner.

About Se'Quasha Smith

When I love something I become insanely passionate about it! I'm a writer/poet who is into books, music, all things beauty, fragrances, candles, and all other kinds of bossome ish. I'm a Christian, but I'm more spiritual than religious. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on a few of my fav subjects.

4 responses to “Current Reads #19

  1. Can’t wait to hear how it is! I’ve only read one book by her, Maybe In Another life, and didn’t care for it too much, so this one has me hesitant. I’m currently reading Lies She told, and listening to A Brief History of Seven Killings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

