Posted on

Finished Reads #3

stacksHere are the mini reviews for the last eight books I’ve read. My rating system goes from a 1 star (horrible), all the way to 5 stars (pure epicness). Let’s get started.

Biker’s Librarian by Shyla Colt- I was fully immersed in the M.C. world that Ms. Colt created. Biker’s Librarian was an emotionally charged, passionate story that had me wishing I were a librarian. Juliette and Shooter were two strong characters, and their romantic connection was undeniable. The story was a bit slow at times, and the ending was rushed, but other than that I dug the book. 3.5 Stars

The Wife Of A Texas Hustler by Mesha Mesh- I was completely entertained by this read. The characters were beyond memorable, and did things that caused a strong reaction out of me. I was so caught up in their shenanigans, and loved every second of it. I thought there were too many time skips in the novel, which was a bit confusing. And there were definitely some grammatical errors that needed to be edited out. Besides that, this was a really fun read. I’m definitely going to check out more of Ms. Mesh’s work. 3.5 Stars

Asleep by Banana Yoshimoto- Magical Realism is a genre that takes some getting used to, but, I’m glad Asleep was my gateway drug. Ms. Yoshimoto is a unique writer. This short story collection was delightful, colorful, and imaginative. One story was a bit of a let down, but otherwise this was a dope collection. 3.5 Stars

Outsiders by Tammy Ferebee- Absorbing, complex, and daring perfectly describes this YA/Sci-Fi novel. The story was a refreshing take on diversity done right in a novel. From the start of the novel, to its explosive conclusion, I was hooked. This was Ms. Ferebee’s first novel; she definitely has a promising career ahead of her. 4.5 Stars

Witching Hour Theatre by Jonathan Janz- Seriously, I LOVE Mr. Janz’s work. I’m pretty much going to buy everything he puts out. I enjoyed this novel. Witching Hour Theatre was creepy as hell, and I loved the concept of a horror story taking place during a horror movie marathon. The novella had an old-school feel to it, which I dug. 3.5 Stars

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher- This controversial novel came highly recommended, and I’m glad I read it. From the synopsis we learn the fate of one of the protagonists, Hannah Baker. Even knowing that her demise was imminent, I was still affected when it happened. This novel was almost like a cautionary tale, and I loved it. 4 Stars

My Life So Far by Jane Fonda- Ms. Fonda is a straight up gangsta! Anyone who could be transparent about their flaws, and failures, well I have a ton of respect for them. I know that I’m going to go back and highlight, and make notes. Loved this autobiography. 5 Stars

One Wild Ride: Lords Of Mayhem Book 2 by Shyla Colt- This was the second book in the Lords Of Mayhem series; Biker’s Librarian was the first book. In this book we’re introduced to Joey, and Moose, best friends of the couple from Biker’s Librarian. Joey and Moose were so magnetic. I totally adored their story. They dealt with their fair share of drama, but the ending was a happy- and satisfying, one. 3.5 Stars

Cheers, homies!

Image Credit- Pixaby

 

 

About Se'Quasha Smith

When I love something I become insanely passionate about it! I'm a writer/poet who is into books, music, all things beauty, fragrances, candles, and all other kinds of bossome ish. I'm a Christian, but I'm more spiritual than religious. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on a few of my fav subjects.

Leave a Reply

