Posted on

Finished Reads #2

books Here are my mini reviews for the last four books that I’ve read. My rating system goes from 1 Star (the story was fucking horrible) to 5 Stars (the story was pure epicness). Let’s get started.

Ugly Love by Collen Hoover- I’m officially a fan of Ms. Hoover after reading Ugly Love. I was overcome with every emotion imaginable as I read this beautifully complex, and multilayered novel. Tate and Miles started out with just a sexual arrangement, but of course Tate (as I knew she would) developed feelings for Miles. The reasons behind Miles’ resistance to a relationship, goes beyond typical male bs excuses. I couldn’t fault his reasoning for wanting to push Tate away. Loved this book!! 5 Stars

The Rescue by Twyla Turner- Ms. Turner’s work always produces a massive swoon out of me; and this delightful novella was no exception. A woman who believed she was cursed in love, due to being named Valentine “Val” Hart, met Bo Montgomery (a bear of a man with a heart of gold) in the most unlikeliest of circumstances . Passion soon ignited between the two, and it was straight fire from then on! I ate up this novel like it was a slice of double chocolate cake! 5 Stars

VisionSight by Connie Lacy- Combining contemporary fiction and magical realism, this story was about a woman named Jenna who inherited a unique gift- or curse, from her mother. The start of the story pulled me in rather quickly, and I was hooked. It was interesting to see how Jenna dealt with her recently acquired talent, and her new found interactions with loved ones. Midway through the novel seemed to lose steam, which was a disappointment. The ending was satisfactory enough though. 3.5 Stars

A Living Grave by Robert E. Dunn– This was a mystery that started out amazingly. I loved the protagonist (detective Katrina Williams), and the story flowed effortlessly. And then somewhere around the middle I lost interest. I will admit that it was a bit of a struggle to finish. 2.5 Stars

Cheers, homies!

Image Credit- Pixaby

About Se'Quasha Smith

When I love something I become insanely passionate about it! I'm a writer/poet who is into books, music, all things beauty, fragrances, candles, and all other kinds of bossome ish. I'm a Christian, but I'm more spiritual than religious. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on a few of my fav subjects.

3 responses to “Finished Reads #2

  1. Thanks for the honest reviews, Se’Quasha! I think I’ll check out the one by Twyla.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

