Posted on

Reading Goals 2017

old-books When the calendar changes from December to January, everyone starts creating their lists of goals that they want to accomplish. My personal goals haven’t changed much from years passed, but my reading goals sort of borderline on ambitious. I think.

Number Count: On Goodreads my Reading Challenge number count is thirty. Honestly, I plan on reading more than that, but I just didn’t need all that extra pressure. Lol. My goal is to read a hundred books in 2017.

Biographies: Documentaries have completely ruled my world over the last few weeks; so much so that I want to start reading more biographies, and memoirs in 2017. I just love learning about other people from all walks of life.

Inspirational And Self-Help: A sista is always trying to improve in all areas. I’ve always read books by Joyce Meyer, and Joel Osteen and will continue to do so. I also want to explore the self-help genre much more. Yesterday I purchased books by Louise Hay, and Dr. Wayne Dyer. I’m also committed to reading an Iyanla Vanzant self-help book I bought last year.

Erotic Romance: Would it surprise anyone if I said I want to read a ton of erotic romance novels this year? No? Okay, moving on. 😀

Diverse Reads: I want to read more diverse books. Reading works by people of color is important to me. I mean I do that already, but I want to check out works by authors who are of Hispanic, Asian, and Native American descent as well. If anyone has any suggestions please let me know.

A New Genre: Magical Realism is a book genre “that blends fantastical elements with every day occurrences” according to Google. Magical Realism sounds like a genre that I really need to get into. A few popular magical realism books include “The Time Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger, “Beloved” by Toni Morrison, “Kafka On The Shore” by Haruki Murakami, and “Property Of” by Alice Hoffman. I purchased “Property Of” the other day. I really hope I enjoy it.

So, what are your reading goals for 2017?

Cheers, homies!

Image Credit- I don’t own the image in this post.

 

About Se'Quasha Smith

When I love something I become insanely passionate about it! I'm a writer/poet who is into books, music, all things beauty, fragrances, candles, and all other kinds of bossome ish. I'm a Christian, but I'm more spiritual than religious. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on a few of my fav subjects.

Leave a Reply

