Posted on

Writing Wrap-Up 2016

ernestWriting wise this year has been totally zany. I mean there have definitely been moments of bossness, and there have been writing sessions that should be filed under the clusterfuck label. I’m going to start with the negative and end with the positive. So, here’s my writing wrap-up the for strange year that is 2016.

More than any other year 2016 produced a horrible writer’s block season. Depression for sure assisted with that task. This summer- as I’ve talked  about in a previous post, I lost everything that makes a writer want to write… and it scared the hell out of me. For close to three months I didn’t work on the novel that I really wanted to finish this year. The desire to do anything with it had left my ass. Thankfully, my passion for my book was reignited… unfortunately another year is ending, and I’m not done with the novel. I have felt like a loser because of this, but I’m just going to attempt not to drown in this failure. I will finish this book, and next year has to be the year. There have been so many contributing factors to not finishing my book, but doubt has been the main thing. I have to learn how to overcome that annoying little gnat, and I will.

I’ve really loved writing short stories this year. I only wrote four of them, but I’m really enthusiastic about creating more stories. My goal for 2017 is to write as many stories as I can. I really want to do a few genre bending stories. I want to explore. I want to dive into uncharted territories with my writing.

I’m ready for an amazing year of writing in 2017!

Cheers, homies!

 

Image Credit- I don’t own the image in this post.

About Se'Quasha Smith

When I love something I become insanely passionate about it! I'm a writer/poet who is into books, music, all things beauty, fragrances, candles, and all other kinds of bossome ish. I'm a Christian, but I'm more spiritual than religious. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on a few of my fav subjects.

Leave a Reply

