Posted on

Life Drama And Writing

I’ve often said that writing is my therapy; sometimes it’s the only thing that keeps me sane, and hopeful. Nothing stops the ink from flowing like life drama. Most of my writer’s block episodes happen because of the drama going on within, and around me.

Drama belongs in books and TV shows… other than that I avoid it like the plague. I’m not very argumentative or confrontational because I dread dealing with chaotic situations. If someone disagrees with me on a certain topic, it’s like okay whatever. I don’t give a hot damn if you think Roman Reigns sucks. I think- wait a sec I’m totally getting off subject here as usual. 😀 Basically drama just makes me shut down.

At the first of the year I decided to write more, but 2016 being the overly dramatic cunt that she is had other plans for me. Those plans had appeared in the form of life and family drama. I live with my egg donor- my mother, and sometimes the mother/daughter dynamic doesn’t allow a fruitful session of writing. After an intense argument back in March with the egg donor, I stopped writing for three weeks. She touched the exposed nerve that all writers seem to have… she hinted that I was wasting my time writing. I was so exhausted and hurt by our verbal exchange that I lost my damn mojo.

Prayer, and pep talks from my buds really helped me. Soon after I was back to creating magic on those white pages.

All was “well” until this past weekend. Once again drama was dropped on my plate, and I seriously didn’t remember ordering it off the menu. I was already feeling a little depressed and anxious, so getting into another argument was temporarily crippling.

After I had a little talk with Jesus (yass, praise Him), I made a promise to myself. No longer will I allow life drama, family drama, or anything else to stop my show. I’m not getting any younger and I have to press on.

Don’t let anything or anyone stop you from progressing.

Cheers, homies.

About Se'Quasha Smith

When I love something I become insanely passionate about it! I'm a writer/poet who is into books, music, all things beauty, fragrances, candles, and all other kinds of bossome ish. I'm a Christian, but I'm more spiritual than religious. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on a few of my fav subjects.

3 responses to “Life Drama And Writing

  1. Mae ⋅

    Your relationship with your mom sounds a lot like mine. She loved me but boy was she also an obstacle in my happiness and progress. I had to learn to love her for her faults & leave her alone when she was tearing me down. I also learned she was lashing out due to her own issues. Anyway, I hope you’re feeling better and getting along better with your Mom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I may have to try your methods because they really make sense. I’m just frustrated with the toxicity of the relationship.

      Like

      • Mae ⋅

        Man do I know what you’re going through! My mom was the toughest on me. For no reason too lol. The way she used to go on you would think I was a problem child instead of a shy, awkward and studious kid. Then she passed in 2011. The more I reflect I realize a lot of her anger wasn’t about me. She was just miserable about her own life. She did a lot to drive me away (to the point where I actually moved out!) That being said, I miss her stubborn ass! I noticed I inherited her stubbornness and some of her issues (which I am working hard to unlearn). You love your Mom but when it comes down to it, you have to do you and take care of yourself. You might even have to love her at a distance. My Mom and I started to get along a bit once I moved. But when I was under her roof whew. Girl I got stories for days lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

