Posted on

A Few Writing Bits

notebook For the past two weeks my writing has really gotten me thru some rough times. I’m thankful that I’ve been able to keep the pen moving. The encouragement I’ve received from my buds has been such a blessing. A little known fact; sometimes it takes a small village to keep a writer going. Ooh, I wonder if Octavia E. Butler, or Ernest Hemingway got by with a little help from their friends? 🙂 No one is obligated to dig my shit, or pretend that everything I’m writing is pure magic. I have buds who read my work, and always give me great feedback. Their help has been invaluable.

Here’s a little info on what I’ve been doing with my writing life.

Novel: I’ve been loving working on my novel these past two weeks. I haven’t been stressed out at all, which happens quite often with me. My leading lady and leading man- main characters, have become their own individuals, versus being just my creations. They’re starting to shine like the stars they are! I’m blessed that Karrine, and Alex are a part of my life.

Poetry: Things have been lacking in the poetry department. Poetry comes relatively easy for me, but lately I’ve just been focused on other things. I definitely need to get my shit together and work on my poetry.

Short Stories: Last year’s goal was to write a short story each week. I failed, but I’m determined to get back on that horse! I’m trying again, but this time my goal is to write two shorties (what I call short stories) per month. I have two that I’m ecstatic to be starting.

Erotica/Love Scenes: Your gurl has some strange anxiety about writing sex scenes, but I’m determined to shut that ish all the way down… once and for all! My problem is that I tend to overthink writing sex scenes, and they tend to come off cold, and too technical. My plan is to start studying all the literary erotic scenes that make me wish I was in the scene. I’m also going to watch videos on YouTube regarding how to write great scenes. I will be victorious, dang it!

Cheers, homies!

Image Credit-WikiHow

About Se'Quasha Smith

When I love something I become insanely passionate about it! I'm a writer/poet who is into books, music, all things beauty, fragrances, candles, and all other kinds of bossome ish. I'm a Christian, but I'm more spiritual than religious. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on a few of my fav subjects.

2 responses to “A Few Writing Bits

  1. Keep going mama! You’re getting there. The only bit of advice I can give on writing sex scenes is to imagine it is you in the scene. Though you may be doing that already. For me the scenes play out like a movie too. I can pause, rewind, and fast forward within the scene to help me write certain parts. “Wait, wait! Go back. Would his hand really be there if they’re in that position? Okay, there we go. Replay. Oh yeah, that’s hot!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

