Posted on

The Woman Who Loved Candles

Candles are a great mood setter; plus they engage the senses. I adore a delightful, bossome smelling, and long-lasting candle. Personally, I love for my bedroom to smell like a bakery, or a men’s department store fragrance counter. That gives you a little insight into what I dig scent wise. In this post I’m sharing a few of my candle staples.

     Bath & Body Works candles give me life! They’re a bit on the expensive side, but they usually have good sales. All candle lovers should sign up for the B&BW emails. At the right time their coupon discounts are on point. Normally the three wick candles are $22.00, but sometimes they go as low as $10.00. Mahogany Teakwood is my fav B&BW candle. The key notes are mahogany, oak, and frosted lavender. Basically the scent of Mahogany Teakwood reminds me of a man coming out the shower. And the candle is so potent because it’s heavily oil concentrated. This candle isn’t for someone who doesn’t dig strong scents. The way the delicate lavender notes mixes with the woodsy notes is unbelievable. Ooh wee, I love this candle!

candle2

     Wal Mart never came to mind when I thought about making candle purchases; but they have fantastic candles. 719 Walnut Avenue (located by the Glade candles) is Wal Mart’s answer to B&BW’s three wick candles. The price point is just under $5.00 so you can fill up that shopping cart! There are three scents that I’m overly obsessed with: Pumpkin Waffles, Rustic Lakehouse, and Mahogany Driftwood.

Pumpkin Waffles has key notes of maple syrup, brown sugar, and of course pumpkin waffles. The candle makes any room smell like a decadent dessert. The scent is long-lasting, mouthwatering, but not overwhelming.

pumpkin

Rustic Lakehouse is everything! I’ve gone through two candles since November, and I’m getting more. Rustic Lakehouse is another cologne type scent, with key notes of cedar, citrus, and green moss. Citrus isn’t usually my thing, but it’s a subtle background note of this candle. Long after you’ve blown out this candle the scent lingers.

rustic

Mahogany Driftwood is an obvious rip-off B&BW’s Mahogany Teakwood. Driftwood with its key notes of mahogany, cedar, and florals has a slightly lighter scent than Teakwood. With Driftwood the floral notes seem to run the show, which is totally fine with me.

driftwood

For a future post I’ll talk about Scentsy. I’m wanting to try out some of their wax melts. A consultant for Scentsy that I watch on YouTube, sent out a catalog, and I know I’m in trouble.

Cheers, homies! 🙂

About Se'Quasha Smith

When I love something I become insanely passionate about it! I'm a writer/poet who is into books, music, all things beauty, fragrances, candles, and all other kinds of bossome ish. I'm a Christian, but I'm more spiritual than religious. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on a few of my fav subjects.

2 responses to “The Woman Who Loved Candles

  1. Mae ⋅

    Pumpkin Waffles sounds mouth watering! I usually pick up some candles at T.J. Maxx and the Dollar Tree. I definitely will try some of those candles that you recommended including Rustic Lakehouse. I usually go for citrus/lemon and fresh linen scents, but I do love my cake batter/pastry smelling candles (but not too sweet smelling though).

    Like

Leave a Reply

